Frequently Asked Questions about the Olathe Police Department's hiring process
1. How long does the hiring process take?
Our hiring process average 3 to 5 months from application to hire date.
2. What is on the written test?
OPD administers a National Police Officer Selection Test (POST) developed by Stanard & Associates. The test is designed to measure four primary cognitive skills critical to successfully learning and performing the job of a police officer. The test has four timed sections that cover mathematics, reading comprehension, grammar, and incident report writing. A study guide is not provided for this exam.
3. Do I have to take the written test at OPD?
Yes, we require all applicants to physically take our written exam through OPD. Prior test scores are not accepted and test centers will not be utilized.
4. Do out of state officers have to go through the academy again?
The Olathe Police Department accepts out of state lateral transfers. If qualified, applicants do not have to attend the Johnson County Regional Police Academy if you have already attended a formal police academy. The Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center (KLETC
) accepts out of state academies in most cases.
5. I only want to be a detective. Do I have to be a patrol officer first?
All officers, including lateral officers from other agencies, enter the patrol division when they are hired. Officers who wish to transfer to any of our speciality assignments must be a patrol officer for a minimum of 2-3 years before applying for a speciality assignment.
6. Is the police academy a "live in" academy? Do I need to pay for the academy?
The Johnson County Regional Police Academy
is not a "live in" academy. Recruits are employees of the department live where they want in the Kansas City metropolitan area. OPD pays the cost of your academy.
7. What is the 1st step to apply to the Olathe Police Department?
The first step is to submit an application. The Olathe Police Department does not accept paper applications. Applicants will need to submit their application through our website.
8. Does the department have an maximum age limit?
9. I want to be a CSI (Crime Scene Investigator). Does the Olathe Police Department have CSI's?
The Olathe Police Department has a crime scene investigator position which is located in the Investigations Division. You must work in the Patrol Division for at least three years before you can put in for this assignment.
10. What is the hiring process for out of state applicants?
An out of state applicant's first trip will be the written exam. If the applicant passes the written exam, they will make a second trip for an Oral Board Interview. If they pass the Oral Board interview, we will schedule a polygraph examination for the same trip (potentially within the same day). The third trip will be longer in duration and will consist of a physical agility test and interview with the Chief of Police. If a conditional offer is made, the candidate will be scheduled for a psychological and medical exam. There are at minimum, 3 trips for an out of state applicant. An out of state applicant is considered to be greater than 250 miles from the Olathe Police Department.
11. When does the academy start?
12. I meet all but one of the listed minimum requirements. Does the Olathe Police Department allow any latitude to the requirements?
No, all applicants must meet the minimum standards without compromise. The minimum standards listed are just the minimum standards. In order to insure the integrity, credibility, and professionalism of the men and women of the Olathe Police Department, the standards and selection process for Police Officer are very high.
13. Is the process different for out of state applicants?
The only difference between the out of state process and the process for candidates closer to the area is the ease and availability to access the steps in the hiring process over time. The amount of time it takes to get hired for an applicant from in state and an applicant from out of state can be the same.
14. How is Olathe's hiring process different from other states?
We will pay you to go through the Academy. You do not reside at the Academy. You do not sign a minimum term contract with our agency. If for some unfortunate reason you have to leave the department soon after you are hired, you will not be required to pay anything back to the department for early termination.
New recruits who graduate from the academy with their certification go directly to the Patrol Division to begin their 12 week Field Training Officer Program.